Sunday, November 27, 2022

Phoenix Suns reveal Summer League roster headlined by Ish Wainright

Ish Wainright #12 and Frank Kaminsky #8 of the Phoenix Suns react during the second half of the NBA game at Footprint Center on March 27, 2022 in Phoenix, Arizona. The Suns defeated the 76ers 114-104. (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

(Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

The Phoenix Suns released their 18-man Summer League 2022 minicamp roster Sunday evening.

Ish Wainright heads the squad as the sole player from last year’s active roster.

The 6-foot-5 wing played in 45 games for Phoenix and averaged 2.4 points on 39.4% shooting in 8.0 minutes. He also played in seven playoff games.

Wainright is not under contract for the 2022-23 season.

He will play alongside former Grand Canyon University big man Asbjørn Midtgaard, Oregon Ducks standout and ex-Sacramento Kings forward Louis King and three-time First Team All-Pac-12 honoree McKinley Wright IV (Colorado).

Wright IV played five games with the Minnesota Timberwolves last year.

Absent from the roster is Iffe Lundberg, who signed a two-way deal with Phoenix in March.

The Suns also did not have a draft pick this year to add to the squad.

Steve Scalzi will be the head coach for the summer. He joined Monty Williams’ staff last year after spending time as a player development coach with the Oklahoma City Thunder.

All 30 NBA teams will play five games this summer.

Phoenix’s first game in Las Vegas is set for Friday against the Los Angeles Lakers at the Thomas & Mack Center starting at 7 pm

The Suns also have the Washington Wizards, Dallas Mavericks and Sacramento Kings on the schedule. Their fifth and final opponent will be determined based on which teams reach the championship game.

Suns Summer League minicamp roster:

  • Brancou Badio (Senegal)
  • Vrenz Bleijenbergh (Belgium)
  • Tyson Carter (Mississippi State)
  • Ahmad Carver (Old Dominion)
  • Jehyve Floyd (Holy Cross)
  • Karim Jallow (Germany)
  • Louis King (Oregon)
  • Jo Lual-Acuil Jr. (Baylor)
  • Markis McDuffie (Wichita State)
  • Leonardo Meindl (Brazil)
  • Asbjorn Midtgaard (Grand Canyon)
  • Duop Reath (LSU)
  • Olivier Sarr (Kentucky)
  • Kameron Taylor (Seton Hall)
  • Dejan Vasiljevic (Miami)
  • Ish Wainright (Baylor)
  • McKinley Wright IV (Colorado)
  • Kevin Zhang (Tulane)

Penguin Air


Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles